The National Ray Walton Leadership Award was established to recognize state chief administrators for their passion, outstanding service, leadership and commitment to state government. The award was created to honor Ray Walton for his service and dedication to state government and to NASCA. Ray Walton served as the Executive Director for NASCA from February 2011 through February 2015 and the former Director and Chief Operating Officer for the Iowa Department of Administrative Services. Learn more about Ray Walton.


  • Nominees must currently serve as a state chief administrator (or equivalent) or left the position no more than 12 months.
  • All NASCA State Primary (Chief Administrators) AND Secondary (Department Staff) members are eligible to nominate a current state chief administrator (or equivalent). Deputies and staff are now eligible to submit a nomination.
  • Nominees (i.e. the state) for this award must be a paid members of NASCA.


  • Selection of the National Walton Leadership Award honoree is based on two major criteria: 
    • Accomplishments in their state and/or in NASCA
    • Service and leadership during their career
  • The winner of this award will be selected by a NASCA awards sub-committee.

Deadline: July 6, 2021 | 11:59 PM ET

Step 1: Step 2:
Download nomination template
Submit your nomination



 2023  2022 2021
Joseph F. Damico
Director, Virginia Department
of General Services
Michael DiBiase Bob Oglesby 

Janel Forde,
Director, Illinois' Department of Central Management Services

Michael DiBiase,
Former Director,
Rhode Island's Department of Administration

Bob Oglesby, 
Former Commissioner, Tennessee's
Department of General Services 

Chris Liu

 Doug Nelson  Richard Sliwoski

Chris Liu,
Former Director, 
Washington's Department of Enterprise Services 

  Doug Nelson, 
Former Commissioner, 
Missouri's Office of Administration
  Richard Sliwoski,
Former Director, 
Virginia's Department of General Services