The Innovation in State Government Awards recognizes state administration department programs, projects, and initiatives that exemplify leading practices in the industry. 


Nominations will be reviewed for eligibility and alignment with the category. 

  • State must be a current member of NASCA
  • Submissions must be made by State Chief Administrators (or equivalent) or other state member with the State Chief Administrator's approval
  • Nominated programs/projects should have been implemented within the last 24 months
  • Projects may be led by other agencies/departments, but staff from the administration department must have played a significant role in developing the program or project. (ex: HHS stockpile redesign, Department of Corrections recruitment and retention initiative)
  • Only one nomination per state is allowed in each category. Contact [email protected] if you need help on the category selection
  • A state may only be recognized as the award winner in two categories, the two highest scoring projects will be selected
  • Only completed submissions will be accepted
  • Submissions will only be accepted online
  • Prior year submissions that were not awarded and have been updated can also be submitted

2023 Categories:

  • Customer Service & Experience
  • Digital Services, Data Management, Analytics & Visualization
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
  • Employee Engagement and Experience
  • Facilities and Real Estate Optimization
  • Procurement Modernization
  • Transformation

 Judging Criteria:

Applicants will use a NASCA template that includes an executive summary and narrative of each of the following judging criteria. Visual aids are encouraged and may be included as supplemental material, but scores will be based on the written submission. 

  • Innovation: Project Goals/Objectives (25%)
  • Strategy/Tactics (25%)
  • Impact: Success Metrics/Outcomes and Efficiencies Achieved (50%)

Looking for tips and tricks? Check out Tips for a strong submission.

Nomination Period: May 22 through June 30, 2023

Extended through Monday July 10th, 2023.

How to Nominate:

  1. Download Nomination Template and use it to complete prepare your nomination.
  2. Submit your nomination using this Nomination Form and upload your completed Nomination Template along with supporting documentation, if any.

Other Information

 Click here for Past Recipients

Access 2021 - 2022 award submissions on our Knowledge Center

Access 2015 - 2020 award submissions on our Knowledge Center